Topics

TOP QUESTIONS

REGISTRATION QUESTIONS

CERTIFICATE QUESTIONS

COURSE QUESTIONS

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

MISC QUESTIONS

WHO CAN TAKE THE COURSE?

California drivers who are 55 years old or older who have a valid California driver’s license can take a mature driver course and qualify for the state-mandated auto insurance discount.

Some insurance companies allow drivers 50+ to qualify for the discount. Check with your auto insurance company to see if you qualify.

  • Our Online “Initial” Mature Driver Tune-Up Course is for people who have never taken a California Mature Driver Improvement course before.

  • You qualify to take the "Refresher" course if you have already taken a California Mature Driver Improvement course and the date on your certificate is not more than 4 years old.


WILL MY INSURANCE COMPANY ACCEPT YOUR CERTIFICATE?

Our Official California DMV Mature Driver Improvement Certificates are individually numbered and come from the California DMV.

California State insurance law (Insurance Code Section 11628.3) mandates that your auto insurance company provide you with a discount on your auto insurance for a period of 3 years after you provide proof of successfully completing our Mature Driver Tune-Up Course.

  • The amount of your discount will depend upon your driving record, insurance company and other factors. Insurance companies can refuse to give you a discount if you have a poor driving record.

  • You should contact your insurance agent and find out how much you will save prior to taking our course.


IS THE COURSE NARRATED

Yes. You can either have the course read back to you or read the course without narration.  The choice is up to you.


HOW MUCH CAN I SAVE ON AUTO INSURANCE?

Drivers who complete our course get up to 15% off their auto insurance and save on average $90 a year. You should contact your insurance agent and find out how much you will save prior to taking our course.

The amount of your discount will depend upon your driving record, insurance company, and other factors. Insurance companies can refuse to give you a discount if you have a poor driving record.

 


HOW DO MATURE DRIVER IMPROVEMENT COURSES WORK?

Every licensed Mature Driver Course must be reviewed and licensed by the California Department of Motor Vehicles. According to California DMV regulations, each Mature Driver Course must purchase Mature Driver Improvement Course Certificates directly from the DMV and must give these to drivers who successfully complete the course.

According to California State insurance law (Insurance Code Section 11628.3), your auto insurance company must provide you with a discount on your auto insurance for a period of 3 years after you provide proof of successfully completing a Mature Driver Improvement Course like our Mature Driver Tune-Up Course.


ARE YOUR COURSES DMV APPROVED?

Yes. Our Mature Driver Tune-Up Courses (Online) are Approved and licensed by the California DMV (Lic #MO366).

We do not inform the DMV that you have completed our course. You only need to give your certificate to your insurance agent / company to get your insurance discount.


CAN I FAIL THE COURSE?

No! To earn your Mature Driver Certificate, just read or listen to all of the course material and watch the videos.

Large nationwide companies like the AARP and AAA have one course that includes content required by the Department of Motor Vehicles of multiple states. 

We are licensed by the California DMV and only include their required content. This make our Initial course 90 minutes shorter. The California DMV does not require us to test you either. You just take the course to earn your certificate. There are no tests to pass.


HOW DO I GET MY AUTO INSURANCE DISCOUNT?

Once you complete our course, we email your official DMV Certificate to you. You must forward this certificate by email or print out and give it to your auto insurance agent as proof of completing our Mature Driver Tune-Up course to get your auto insurance discount.


HOW LONG IS A MATURE DRIVER COURSE?

Initial Course - 6.5 Hours

Our 'Initial' Mature Driver Tune-Up Course is 6.5 hours long. This meets the California DMV’s requirement for an initial Mature Driver Course.  Because there aren’t timers to slow you down like other courses have (i.e., AARP), you can finish our course as fast as you can read. On average, people finish in 5 to 6 hours.

  • Courses form AARP and AAA are 8 hours long because they must cover all US States with one course and must comply with the requirements of different state DMVs. They also have annoying timers that make you wait to proceed to the next lesson.

Renewal Course - 4-Hours

Our 'Renewal' Mature Driver Tune-Up course is 4 hours long. You must have already taken an Initial or Renewal Mature Driver Course to qualify to take the 'Renewal' course. 


WHAT WILL I LEARN?

Designed to tune-up your driving knowledge and skills, our mature driver course helps improve your confidence behind the wheel by bringing you up to date on the latest traffic laws and defensive driving techniques with videos, images and easy to read content. It covers topics such as:

  • How to be a better defensive driver
  • The effects of alcohol and/or medications on the mind and body
  • New technology found in cars
  • Proper use of seat belts, car seats, airbags, anti-lock brakes, etc.
  • Techniques for minimizing blind spots
  • Tips for handling left turns, U turns, highway driving and right of way decisions
  • Knowing when not to drive

DOES A MATURE DRIVER COURSE LOWER AUTO INSURANCE?

If you are a California Driver 55 or older, a Mature Driver Course, also known as a safe driver or senior defensive driver course, can lower your auto insurance by an average of $90 per year.  You should check with your auto insurance company to see how much you can save prior to taking the course.


 

WHAT KIND OF PAYMENTS DO YOU ACCEPT?

We accept all major credit and debit cards and PayPal.

Payment is only accepted on our secure website and phone orders are not accepted.

Sorry. We do not accept checks or money order.


WHAT INFORMATION DO I NEED TO REGISTER?

In order to register for our Mature Driver Tune-Up Course, you need your:

  • Email Address

  • Mailing Address

  • Driver's License Information

  • Credit Card, Debit Card or PayPal account


IS YOUR WEBSITE SECURE AND SAFE?

The security of your information is a priority for us.  As such, our secure website uses the latest encryption and Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) technology to protect the security of your online order information. We do not store any of your credit card information and when your transaction is transmitted, your credit card information is encrypted and replaced with numbers that mean nothing to anyone except your credit card company.


WHAT KIND OF COMPUTER DO I NEED TO TAKE THE COURSE?

You can use any internet-connected computer (PC or Mac), tablet or smartphone to take the course. Your web browser, i.e., Internet Explorer, Chrome, Safari, etc. must be up to date for security reasons.


DO I NEED TO INSTALL SPECIAL SOFTWARE?

No. Unlike some of our competitors, we do not require that you install any special software or download mobile apps.  Just navigate to our website www.maturedrivertuneup.com on your device and sign in to take the course.

AARP's course requires that you have dangerous FLASH software installed and only allows you to use your computer to take the course.


CAN I USE A TABLET OR A SMARTPHONE?

Yes. You can use any internet connected computer, tablet or smartphone with an updated web browser. We do, however, recommned that you use something larger than a smartphone to register with as the screen size of smartphones make it difficult to enter information easily. 


MY SPOUSE AND I HAVE THE SAME EMAIL ADDRESS - HOW DO WE REGISTER?

You both register and pay separately.

When registering, you must create two different usernames (must be 8 letters or numbers)

Example: janedoe8 and johndoe8

Use the different usernames to sign and out of the accounts.


 

CAN MY SPOUSE AND I TAKE THE COURSE TOGETHER?

 

Yes. Follow the following steps to take the course together.

Step 1: Register the 1st Person

  1. Register one person for the course
  2. Take the course together using this person's account

Step 2: Logout of the 1st Person's Account (click on the link in the upper right corner of the website)

  • You are logged out if it says "STUDENT LOGIN" next to the 800# in the upper right corner of the homepage. If it says, "LOGOUT" click to logout of the course.

Step 3: Register the 2nd Person and Skip Through The Course

  1. Create a new account and register the 2nd person (create a different username if you both use the same email address)
  2. Skip through the course to the end by hitting the 'Continue" button at the bottom of each page. Do not listen to or watch the videos - you already did this 
    • This is based on the honor system and the fact that the course information can help keep you or your family members safe on the road
  3. Both people receive their certificates​ by email

 

WHEN WILL I RECEIVE MY CERTIFICATE?

We email your certificate within 3 business days of you completing the course.

If you requested the optional paper certificate upgrade, most people receive it within 7-10 business days (weekends and holidays are not business days).

 

If you haven't received your emailed certificate, do the following:

1) Make certain it is after the date printed in your course completion confirmation email

2) Check your emails from previous days  (sometimes you receive your certificate within 24-hours of completing the course)

3) Check your spam folder

4) If you use multiple email accounts, be certain you're looking in the one you registered with

5) If you registered two people but only see one certificate, your email provider may have bundled the two emails together. Look at the bottom of the first email.

6) If you did not receive any emails from us after registering, go to your account and check to see if you entered your email address correctly when you registered

If you have not received your certificate by the date specified in your completion email, you can either log into your account and download your certificate, or email us and request that we resend it to you.


WHAT DO I DO AFTER I RECEIVE MY CERTIFICATE?

After you receive your Certificate you need to give it to your auto insurance agent / company as proof that you have completed our California DMV Licensed and Approved Mature Driver Tune-Up course. Your agent will then apply the discount to your insurance.

Since your certificate is emailed to you, you can sometimes just forward it with the attached certificate to your auto insurance company/agent.


WHAT IF THE INFORMATION ON MY CERTIFICATE IS WRONG?

We ask that you review the information you submit to us for accuracy.  If the information on your certificate is incorrect, you must email us the correct information so that we can issue a replacement Certificate. This process can take a few days and the cost to re-process your certificate is $5.00.


WHO CAN TAKE A CALIFORNIA MATURE DRIVER COURSE?

California drivers who are 55 years old or older who have a valid California driver’s license can take a mature driver course and qualify for the state-mandated auto insurance discount.

  • Our Online “Initial” Mature Driver Tune-Up Course is for people who have never taken a California Mature Driver Improvement course before.

  • You qualify to take the "Refresher" course if you have already taken a California Mature Driver Improvement course and the date on your certificate is not more than 4 years old.


DO I HAVE TO TAKE THE COURSE ALL AT ONCE?

No. The course is self-paced and has no time limit. You can start and stop the course as many times as you'd like 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. Your progress is automatically saved so you start where you left off.


CAN I STOP AND RE-START THE COURSE LATER?

Yes. To stop the course, simply “logout” by clicking the link at the top of the course. Your progress is automatically saved. To re-start the course, sign in using the Student Login link at the top of the homepage.


HOW MANY CHAPTERS ARE THERE?

The Initial course consists of 12 chapters and meets the California DMV’s minimum required course length of 400 minutes (6.6 hours). Other courses like AARP's Mature Driver Course is an 8-hour course.  Our course is shorter, you finish faster and we give you the same Certificate for cheaper!  On average, people finish our course in 5 to 6 hours.

Our shorter Renewal course consists of 12 chapters and is only 4 hours long. You must have already taken the longer Initial course to be eligible to take the Renewal Course.


HOW MUCH TIME DO I HAVE TO FINISH THE COURSE?

You have an unlimited amount of time to complete the course. Your access will only end once you complete the course.


DO YOU HAVE A COURSE TAUGHT IN A TRADITIONAL CLASSROOM?

No. We do not have a course taught in a classroom. Our course is only taught on our website from the comfort of your office or home.  Our online course provides the most flexibility by giving people the ability to take it whenever and wherever they are, any time of day or night.


DO YOU HAVE A MATURE DRIVER RENEWAL COURSE?

Yes. We currently offer a shorter 4 hour Mature Driver Renewal course. You must have already taken an Initial or Renewal Mature Driver course from us or from another DMV licensed company within the last 4 years. If your last course was taken over four years ago, you must retake the Initial course.


WHAT ARE THE BENEFITS OF TAKING A MATURE DRIVER COURSE?

In addition to getting a discount on your auto insurance, there are a number of benefits from taking a mature driver course. You get up to speed on new laws, learn the latest defensive driving techniques and also benefit from increased confidence and reduced risk of having an accident.  


WHAT'S THE PURPOSE OF A MATURE DRIVER COURSE?

A Mature Driver Improvement Course helps you become a better defensive driver by giving you instruction on the latest California motor vehicle laws and other information including the effects of alcohol and/or medication on the mind and body, fatigue, visual and auditory limitations, techniques for minimizing blind spots, tips for handling turns and other useful information that helps to keep you and your loved ones on the road.


CALIFORNIA MANDATED SENIOR AUTO INSURANCE DISCOUNT LAW

California State insurance law (Insurance Code Section 11628.3) mandates that your auto insurance company provide you with a discount on your auto insurance for a period of 3 years after you provide proof of successfully completing our Mature Driver Tune-Up Course.

The amount of your discount will depend upon your driving record, insurance company, and other factors. Insurance companies can refuse to give you a discount if you have a poor driving record. Drivers who complete our course get up to 15% off their auto insurance and save on average $90 a year, but you should contact your insurance agent and find out how much you will save.


WHY SHOULD I TAKE A MATURE DRIVER COURSE?

By taking a California DMV approved and licensed Mature Driver course, you may qualify to have your auto insurance premium reduced for 3 years. On average, drivers who complete our course save up to 15% and an average of $90 per year for three years.* The exact amount of your discount will depend upon your driving record, insurance company and other factors.

In addition to saving money, a Mature Driver Improvement Course helps you become a better defensive driver by giving you instruction on the latest California motor vehicle laws and other information including the effects of alcohol and/or medication on the mind and body, fatigue, visual and auditory limitations, techniques for minimizing blind spots, tips for handling turns and other useful information that helps to keep you and your loved ones on the road.

*Contact your auto insurance agent to determine how much you’ll save. Simply ask them how much you’ll save after completing our California DMV Approved Mature Driving Course. Insurance companies can refuse to give you a discount if you have a poor driving record.


I FORGOT MY PASSWORD

If you forget your password, you can reset it by CLICKING HERE

  • You will be asked for the email address you used to register for the course with

  • You will be sent an email within a few minutes

  • Follow the instructions in the email and Click on the link to reset your password

  • You will be asked to create a new password

Please remember to write down your new password.

 

RECALL YOUR USERNAME

If you need to recall your username, you can have it emailed to you by CLICKING HERE


 

I TYPED MY EMAIL ADDRESS WRONG

If you registered with a wrong email address, log into your account with the incorrect email address.

Once in your account, you can change the incorrect email address to your corrrect email address.


CUSTOMER SUPPORT HOURS

Our customer support agents are here to answer your phone calls Monday through Friday from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm California time. During the weekends or evenings, please email us at support@mdtuneup.com and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

In-person office visits are by appointment only.

Toll-Free: 800-414-5587

Email: support@mdtuneup.com


I HAVE NOT RECEIVED MY CERTIFICATE

Our computer system ensures that your certificate is emailed to you within 3 business days (or quicker) from the day you completed the course. 

Customers have found their certificates by doing the following:

1) Check your emails from previous days  (sometimes you receive your certificate within 24-hours of completing the course)

2) Check your spam folder

3) If you use multiple email accounts, be certain you're looking in the one you registered with

4) If you registered two people but only see one certificate, your email provider may have bundled the two emails together. Look at the bottom of the first email.

5) If you did not receive any emails from us after registering, go to your account and check to see if you entered your email address correctly when you registered

 

If you have not received your certificate by the date specified in your completion email, you can either log into your account and download your certificate, or email us and request that we resend it to you.

 

PAPER CERTIFICATE MAIL UPGRADE

If you purchased the paper certificate mailed to you upgrade, you should receive your certificate in the mail within 10 business days. Please look at a calendar to take into account any holidays or weekends. 

 

 


MY INFORMATION IS WRONG

If your registration information is wrong and your certificate has not been issued to you, just log into your account and correct it.

If you have already received your certificate, you must email us at support@mdtuneup.com with the updated information. We will update your information and respond after this is done. The process of updating and re-issuing a new certificate can take a few days. There is a reprocessing fee of $5.00 to edit and re-print your certificate. 


I FORGOT MY USERNAME

If you forget what your username is, just click here and enter your email address.  Your username will be sent to you in an email.


 

HOW MUCH DOES YOUR AUTO INSURANCE GO DOWN WHEN YOU TURN 55?

Your auto insurance premium can decrease by up to 15 percent after you turn 55 if you complete a DMV approved Mature Driver Improvement Course. Contact your auto insurance agent to learn how much you will save by taking the course.  Your discount is good for three years.


WHAT IS A MATURE DRIVER DISCOUNT?

Mature drivers, 55 or older, who successfully complete a California DMV approved Mature Driver Improvement course can qualify for a discount on their auto insurance premium for a period of three years.

The amount of your discount will depend upon your driving record, insurance company and other factors. You should contact your auto insurance company to find out your eligibility and the amount of your discount prior to taking an approved Mature Driver Improvement Course.


HOW MUCH DOES A MATURE DRIVER COURSE COST?

Mature driver courses range in price from $13.95 to $29.95. The price also depends on the type of course (online courses tend to be less expensive than in-person classes). Cheaper courses do not include audio and require you to pay extra for addons which increase their actual cost. 

Our Mature Driver Tune-Up Course (Online) costs $17.95 and includes auto and videos. It includes everything you need to get your auto insurance discount.

  • California DMV Licensed and Approved Mature Driver Tune-Up Course #MO366

  • Email confirmation of course completion

  • Official DMV Completion Certificate mailed to you home

California drivers who complete our course save up to 15% and an average of $90 per year for 3 years on their auto insurance. The exact amount of your discount will depend upon your driving record, insurance company and other factors. You should contact your auto insurance agent and find out how much you will save before taking our Mature Driver Tune-Up course.


WHAT KIND OF MATURE DRIVER COURSES ARE AVAILABLE?

Mature driver courses are offered in traditional, in-person classrooms and online where you use your computer, tablet or smartphone to take the course.  We only offer the online versionS as we believe it offers the most flexibility and convenience for people.

You must first take the "initial" Mature Driver Course to qualify for your 3 year auto insurance discount.  Your certificate is good for 3 years, after which, you must renew your certificate by taking a "Renewal" course.