TOP QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
How Do Mature Driver Improvement Courses Work?
According to California State insurance law (Insurance Code Section 11628.3), your auto insurance company must provide you with a discount on your auto insurance for a period of 3 years after you provide proof of successfully completing a Mature Driver Improvement Course like our Mature Driver Tune-Up Course.
Read more on the California DMV website - Click Here
Who Can Take A California Mature Driver Course?
California drivers who are 55 years old or older (some insurance companies allow you to take it if you are 50 years old or older) who have a valid California driver’s license can take a mature driver course and qualify for the state-mandated auto insurance discount.
Our Online “Initial” Mature Driver Tune-Up Course is for people who have never taken a California Mature Driver Improvement course before.
You will want to take the 'Renewal' course if you have already taken a California Mature Driver Improvement course and your certificate hasn’t expired, or no more than 12 months has elapsed since your certificate expired. You can take our 'Renewal' course even if you took the 'Initial' course from a different company.
What Do I Get?
Our course price includes everything you need to qualify for your auto insurance discount:
Our California DMV Licensed Online Mature Driver Tune-Up Course (initial or renewal)
Registration Confirmation Email
Course Completion Email
Official California DMV Mature Driver Improvement Certificate mailed to your home by First Class US Postage.
Can My Spouse and I Both Take the Course?
Yes. Ask your auto insurance agent how much you will save if both of you take our Mature Driver Tune-Up course.
When you register, you will need to use two different email addresses as each email address is associated with one person and their certificate. Both people must register, pay and complete the course.
If you and your spouse do not have two different email addresses, there are two different options.
(Option 1) Take the course Individually: Register one person and complete the course. After the first person completes the course, call us at 800-414-5587, or email us at support@mdtuneup, and we will reset the account so that the second person can register using the same email address.
(Option 2) Take the course together: Register one person and both people take the course together. Once you both complete the course, call us at 800-414-5587, or email us at support@mdtuneup, and we will reset the account so that the second person can register. Since the second person has already completed the course, all they do is quickly skip through the course using the 'page down' key on their computer or swipe down on a tablet without reading or listening to the course.
How Much Can I Save On My Auto Insurance?
Drivers who complete our course get up to 15% off their auto insurance and save on average $90 a year. You should contact your insurance agent and find out how much you will save prior to taking our course.
The amount of your discount will depend upon your driving record, insurance company and other factors. Insurance companies can refuse to give you a discount if you have a poor driving record.
Can I Fail The Course?
No! To earn your Mature Driver Certificate, just read all of the course material and watch the videos. Unlike other Mature Driver courses, there are no tests you must pass!
Can I Stop and Start the Course?
Yes. You can stop and start the course as many times as you like. Your progress is automatically saved and you start again where you left off.
When Do I Have to Finish By?
Unlike courses from our competitors, our course does not have a deadline or a time limit by which you need to finish. You can finish the course over a few days or a few months without being rushed.
How Do I Get My Discount?
Once you complete our course, we mail your official DMV Certificate to you. You must give this original Certificate to your auto insurance agent as proof of completing our Mature Driver Tune-Up course to get your auto insurance discount. Your certificate is valid for a period of three years, after which you must take a refresher course to maintain your discount.
How Long Is The Course?
Our 'Initial' Mature Driver Tune-Up Course is 400 minutes long (6.6 hours) and our 'Renewal' Course is 240 minutes long (4 hours). These lengths meet California DMV’s course requirements. Because there aren’t timers to slow you down, you can finish our course as fast as you can read.
Initial courses from nationwide companies like AARP and AAA are 80 minutes longer (480 minutes) because they must adhere to the requirements of all 50 states.
Why Is Your Course Shorter Than AARP's and Other Nationwide Providers?
Our initial course is shorter than AARP's Smart Driver course and courses from other nationwide providers because our course is tailored to the California DMV's requirements. AARP's initial course and other nationwide courses take longer because their content must cover drivers in all 50 states.
Is Your Course Approved By The California DMV?
Yes. Our Mature Driver Tune-Up online courses are approved and licensed by the California DMV under standards set forth in Section 1675 of the California Vehicle Code. California DMV License number M0366.
See our licensed course #M0366 on the DMV approved list by Clicking Here
Is The Course Narrated?
Yes. You can either listen to the course as it is read to you or read the course without the audio. This gives you the flexibility to read or listen to the course.
What Will I Learn From A Mature Driver Course?
Designed to tune-up your driving knowledge and skills, our mature driver course helps improve your confidence behind the wheel by bringing you up to date on the latest traffic laws and defensive driving techniques with videos, images and easy to read content. It covers topics such as:
How to be a better defensive driver
The effects of alcohol and/or medications on the mind and body
New technology found in cars
Proper use of seat belts, car seats, airbags, anti-lock brakes, etc.
Techniques for minimizing blind spots
Tips for handling left turns, U-turns, highway driving and right of way decisions
Knowing when not to drive
Will My Insurance Company Accept Your Certificate?
California State insurance law (Insurance Code Section 11628.3) mandates that your auto insurance company provide you with a discount on your auto insurance for a period of 3 years after you provide proof of successfully completing our Mature Driver Tune-Up Course.
The amount of your discount will depend upon your driving record, insurance company, and other factors. Insurance companies can refuse to give you a discount if you have a poor driving record. You should contact your insurance agent and find out how much you will save prior to taking our course.
When Will I Receive My Certificate?
On average, your certificate will show up in your mailbox 5 to 7 days after you complete the course or sooner. Weekends and holidays are not considered business days.
If it is during an especially busy season like the holidays, it can take longer for the USPS to deliver it.
Do You Send My Certificate to My Insurance Company?
We give you the option to have us email your certificate to your auto insurance agent (for an extra fee). If you decide to have us email your certificate, you must provide us with your policy number and your agent's email address.
If you do not opt to have us email your certificate, you are responsible for sending your certificate to your auto insurance company.
Can I Re-Access the Course After I Finish It?
Many people love our course so much that they want to go back and review it after they have completed it! Unfortunately, this is currently not allowed.
If you are still in the process of taking the course, you can stop and start the course as many times as you would like. Once you finish the course, however, you no longer have access to it.
SEE QUICK START GUIDE (Click Here)
REGISTER NOW (Click Here)